Citizenship

A free-wheeling forum for discussion of Christian issues.

Moderators: Pastor Gary, The J2 Mod Squad

Pastor Gary
Kahu Gary, Benevolent Dictator

Citizenship

Postby Pastor Gary » March 2nd, 2011, 4:23 pm

I am pretty politically conservative. As a vietnam vet, my patriotism credentials are firmly established. Having said that, I am starting to see something likely to make me hugely unpopular; I am starting to see the hand of God in all of this immigration mess. Here's a question I have been wrestling with, which I now dump in YOUR lap:

Where is your true citizenship? If you suddenly saw that God was flooding 3rd world people across the U.S. borders -- with or without a legal right to enter -- to extend His purposes of world evangelism, would you sacrifice your nationalism for the greater good of the gospel?

If not, we are all worshipping a red, white and blue golden calf.
"God is excited to show you mercy. He rises to give you His compassion." (Isaiah 30:18)

"For surely, O LORD, you bless the righteous;
you surround them with your favor as with a shield." (Psalm 5:12)

Pastor Bill
---=== J2 ===---

Postby Pastor Bill » March 4th, 2011, 7:26 am

I have wondered this myself at times, and having worked some with hispanic churches who have shared our buildings how a church should respond to this is up in the air in many ways.

Personally I don't ask for citizenship records in order to minster to someone, but I also believe that as Christians we are to follow the laws of the land as long as they are not conflicting with the laws of God, and would council those that are here illegally that they need to consider that as a part of their witness as a Christian.
"Why would God allow Hitler his chapter in history? Why would God send a whale to swallow Jonah or turn a woman into a pillar of salt? Surely there were other ways. But I'll leave the particular methods of God to God."
-Spoken by David Abraham, Showdown by Ted Dekker

Phil Hoover
Hey, hey, hey